Have you ever sent a file to the Trash by accident? Perhaps you didn’t think you needed it, but found out later that the file was rather important.

You can always use the Put Back command to return the file to the original folder from which it came. This process also works for folders.

It is important to note that if you have deleted the Trash, you will not be able to use this method of recovery. Whilst there are other additional, extreme, methods recovering deleted files, we would suggest you cease using your Mac immediately and drop it into our store so we can attempt to recover your files. If you continue using your Mac, you will likely overwrite sectors on the hard drive that will prevent recovery methods from being successful.

When you open the Trash, by clicking the Trash icon in your dock, you will be presented with a list of the files that are contained within.

At this stage it is imperative that you take another look at the files you are about to delete. Whilst you can’t open them from within the Trash, you can preview the contents by selecting a file and pressing the Spacebar on your keyboard.

2013-05-16 at 10.55.47 AM

If you are sure you no longer require the files contained within the Trash, you can proceed by selecting Empty. If you need to securely remove this content, you can proceed to Finder > Secure Empty Trash. Please note that this method will take longer than a basic Empty Trash command, and the files will not be recoverable when using this method.

Assuming you have found a file or folder that you accidentally added to the Trash, and therefore want to restore to its original location, simply select the file in question and press Command + Delete on your keyboard. Alternatively, you can navigate to File > Put Back from the Menu Bar, or right-click and select Put Back from the drop down Menu.

2013-05-16 at 10.45.50 AM

The file will then be returned to the folder that it was originally moved to the Trash from. This is a perfect solution, especially if you have forgotten where the file was originally stored.

Alternatively, you may wish to simply place the file in another location. To do this, simply click and drag the file out of the Trash to your desktop, or another folder that is visible within the Finder.

A good day for us is when no one comes in saying they have deleted their most precious family photographs and videos. Hopefully, this tip will help you avoid this possibility. If you would like more information, or additional information about backing up your content, please drop into our store to discuss your specific requirements.